<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>K-Squared Ramblings &#187; trackback</title>
	<atom:link href="http://www.hyperborea.org/journal/tag/trackback/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://www.hyperborea.org/journal</link>
	<description>Sci-fi, comics, humor, photos...it&#039;s all fair game.</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Sat, 21 Nov 2009 07:49:46 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=abc</generator>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
	<cloud domain='www.hyperborea.org' port='80' path='/journal/?rsscloud=notify' registerProcedure='' protocol='http-post' />
		<item>
		<title>Trackback spam is back</title>
		<link>http://www.hyperborea.org/journal/archives/2007/08/22/trackback-spam-is-back/</link>
		<comments>http://www.hyperborea.org/journal/archives/2007/08/22/trackback-spam-is-back/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 22 Aug 2007 14:53:52 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Kelson</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Spam]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[blog]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[trackback]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.hyperborea.org/journal/archives/2007/08/22/trackback-spam-is-back/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[I&#8217;m surprised it took so long, but trackback spammers seem to have finally figured out that they can sail past the simplest check against trackback spam&#8212;does the calling page actually link to the page being trackbacked?&#8211;by temporarily adding that link.
Or maybe they have for a while, and they&#8217;ve only just started getting past my other [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I&#8217;m surprised it took so long, but trackback spammers seem to have finally figured out that they can sail past the simplest check against trackback spam&#8212;does the calling page actually link to the page being trackbacked?&#8211;by temporarily adding that link.</p>
<p>Or maybe they have for a while, and they&#8217;ve only just started getting past my other layers of defense (namely <a href="http://www.bad-behavior.ioerror.us/">Bad Behavior</a> and other checks by <a href="http://unknowngenius.com/blog/wordpress/spam-karma/">Spam Karma</a>).</p>
<p>*sigh*</p>
<hr /><small>Copyright &copy; 2009 Kelson Vibber and/or Katherine Foreman.<br /> This feed is for personal, non-commercial use only. <br /> The use of this feed on other websites breaches copyright. Permission granted to Planet Antispam and LiveJournal syndication feed ksquaredramblin.  If this content is not in your news reader or one of the sites listed above, it makes the page you are viewing an infringement of the copyright. (Digital Fingerprint: bc1c453a98ff79bab5c4fca2d890469d (38.107.191.90) )</small> <a href="http://www.hudson-family.co.uk/extremecorticate.php?source=673"></a>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.hyperborea.org/journal/archives/2007/08/22/trackback-spam-is-back/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>This is very good title</title>
		<link>http://www.hyperborea.org/journal/archives/2006/04/19/zathras-spam/</link>
		<comments>http://www.hyperborea.org/journal/archives/2006/04/19/zathras-spam/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 19 Apr 2006 19:17:10 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Kelson</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Babylon 5]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Spam]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[B5]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[trackback]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.hyperborea.org/journal/archives/2006/04/19/zathras-spam/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Lately I&#8217;ve seen an interesting pattern emerge in the comment spam logs here.  Along with the usual collections of links to pills, porn, and watches, there are a bunch of trackback spam attempts using innocuous websites like Google and Yahoo and the phrase &#8220;this is very good,&#8221; over and over.
Title?  &#8220;this is very [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Lately I&#8217;ve seen an interesting pattern emerge in the comment spam logs here.  Along with the usual collections of links to pills, porn, and watches, there are a bunch of trackback spam attempts using innocuous websites like Google and Yahoo and the phrase &#8220;this is very good,&#8221; over and over.</p>
<p>Title?  &#8220;this is very good&#8221;<br />
Blog Name?  &#8220;this is very good&#8221;<br />
Author? &#8220;this is very good&#8221;</p>
<p>The excerpt itself varies a bit, but is usually something like, &#8220;this is related article.&#8221;</p>
<p>I figure they&#8217;re either probes or attempts to poison blacklists.</p>
<p>What&#8217;s funny about these is that in the logs, the fields are all run together, so it looks like this:</p>
<blockquote><p>author: this is very good title: this is very good blog_name: this is very good e-mail: &#8230;</p></blockquote>
<p>The natural inclination is to break the phrases at the punctuation, so it looks like it&#8217;s saying, &#8220;This is very good title.  This is very good blog name.  <em>This</em> is related article.&#8221;&#8212;making it sound like <a href="http://www.loyd.net/osz/wisdom.html">Zathras</a> is behind the keyboard!</p>
<hr /><small>Copyright &copy; 2009 Kelson Vibber and/or Katherine Foreman.<br /> This feed is for personal, non-commercial use only. <br /> The use of this feed on other websites breaches copyright. Permission granted to Planet Antispam and LiveJournal syndication feed ksquaredramblin.  If this content is not in your news reader or one of the sites listed above, it makes the page you are viewing an infringement of the copyright. (Digital Fingerprint: bc1c453a98ff79bab5c4fca2d890469d (38.107.191.90) )</small> <a href="http://www.hudson-family.co.uk/extremecorticate.php?source=673"></a>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.hyperborea.org/journal/archives/2006/04/19/zathras-spam/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>6</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>
