<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>K-Squared Ramblings &#187; Symantec</title>
	<atom:link href="http://www.hyperborea.org/journal/tag/symantec/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://www.hyperborea.org/journal</link>
	<description>Sci-fi, comics, humor, photos...it&#039;s all fair game.</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Sat, 04 Feb 2012 06:27:02 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=</generator>
		<item>
		<title>Symantec Issues</title>
		<link>http://www.hyperborea.org/journal/2006/02/symantec-issues/</link>
		<comments>http://www.hyperborea.org/journal/2006/02/symantec-issues/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 13 Feb 2006 17:23:06 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Kelson</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Spam]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Long]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[phishing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[security]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Symantec]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.hyperborea.org/journal/archives/2006/02/13/symantec-issues/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Last week I received a message offering a 30% discount on Norton Internet Security 2006. It claimed to be from Symantec, but the email address was at digitalriver.com, and all the links&#8212;including the ones that claimed to be at symantec.com&#8212;went &#8230; <a href="http://www.hyperborea.org/journal/2006/02/symantec-issues/">Continue reading <span class="meta-nav">&#8594;</span></a>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Last week I received a message offering a 30% discount on Norton Internet Security 2006.  It claimed to be from Symantec, but the email address was at digitalriver.com, and all the links&#8212;including the ones that claimed to be at symantec.com&#8212;went to bluehornet.com.</p>
<p>Now 5 minutes of research turns up the facts that <a href="http://www.symantec.com/press/2004/n040421a.html">Symantec does work with Digital River</a> and <a href="http://www.digitalriver.com/corporate/press_releases/pr_439.shtml">Digital River owns Blue Hornet</a>.  And it did go to the address I used to register Norton Antivirus last year.  So it&#8217;s probably a legit offer.</p>
<p>But let&#8217;s think about this for a minute.</p>
<p>Assuming it&#8217;s legit, Symantec&#8212;<strong>a company that deals in internet security</strong>&#8212;is deliberately sending out offers via <strong>third-party domains, email and web servers</strong>.  Depending on how security-conscious you are, they are either <a href="http://www.hyperborea.org/journal/2006/01/email-from-one-domain/">making their messages look suspicious</a> or <strong>training users to ignore warning signs</strong>.</p>
<p>Or have you never seen <a href="http://rickconner.net/spamweb/analysis03.html">spam offering enormous discounts on Norton products</a>?  Which generally turn out to be pirated.  And I seem to recall&#8212;though I can&#8217;t find an article to back it up&#8212;that the bootleg copies are often infected themselves, or crippled in some way.</p>
<p>Given how many shady operators are out there, taking advantage of the big guys&#8217; name recognition, you&#8217;d think the big guys would at least make some effort to make their own offerings look less, well, shady.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.hyperborea.org/journal/2006/02/symantec-issues/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>18</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>

